Posted on

Knowing the 4 “C”’s When Diamond Shopping

Are you looking to purchase diamonds for your loved one? But, you’re not sure what to tick off your checklist to buy the perfect diamonds? 

Well, then you’re at the right place. Diamond purchase can be tricky, especially when it’s your first time. 

A number of people may have told you what a good-quality diamond should look like, and all these different suggestions are bound to confuse you. 

However, you need not worry as there is a universal rule that will make your job easier. This rule refers to adhering and looking out for the four “C”‘s when shopping for diamonds. 

Here is what each of the four “C”’s stand for and what makes them essential to consider while shopping for diamonds:


A diamond’s cut is one of its most essential qualities that directly decide how the diamond will shine. 

The cut of the diamond basically refers to the way in which it has been cut. This process requires a lot of patience and skill to produce a sparkling masterpiece. 

If the cut of the diamond is not up to the mark, the purpose of the diamond itself is lost. A poor cut gives you a diamond with no sparkle even when light touches its surface. Hence, the end product will be a very dull-looking piece of jewelry.

Usually, the cut of the diamond is classified under the following categories: 

  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Good
  • Fair
  • Poor

If you’re looking to buy diamonds online, you should only buy them from a place that has certified diamonds for sale. These stores have a range of diamonds with different cut grades from which you can choose the best-cut diamond.


The color of the diamond is its next quality determining factor. You may be wondering how diamonds are available in different colors. Well, most diamonds have light color to them when viewed closely. 

The cut of the diamond also has the ability to reduce or increase the expression of this color. Diamonds are categorized under different letters from D to Z based on their color. 

D constitutes those diamonds that have absolutely no color, and Z comprises those diamonds that have an appreciable amount of color, such as yellow or brown. However, these shades are very light.

To choose a diamond of good quality, the diamond should fall under the color categories ranging from D to J. Anything more than this category involves slightly colored diamonds, with the color slowly becoming more prominent towards the Z category. 

Based on personal preferences, people may choose to buy colorless or colored diamonds.


Whenever anyone draws a picture of a diamond, you will notice that the image includes distinct lines within the diamond, and these lines are known as inclusions. 

In a diamond with a high grade of clarity, you will not be able to see these inclusions very clearly, hence indicating a good-quality diamond.

The best website to buy diamonds will always display the clarity of the diamond to help their customers clearly see if any visible inclusions are present or not.

These inclusions occur naturally, and their presence lowers the sparkle of the diamond. When inclusions are present in the diamond, the diamond is unable to adequately reflect the light that falls on its surface. 

Hence, the end product in such a case is a very dull-looking diamond. As these inclusions are in-built and there is very little that one can do to remove them, getting a diamond with little to no inclusions is pure luck. 

Therefore, you must check any diamond’s clarity and presence of inclusions before you finally decide to purchase it. 


A diamond’s carat basically refers to the weight of the diamond. Many people get confused between the size of the diamond and the diamond carat. 

It is important to note that the diamond carat is very different from the size of the diamond. The greater the carat of the diamond, the greater its price will be. 

One carat is approximately equivalent to about two hundred milligrams. Though this value may be small, if the diamond has a good-quality cut, it will automatically look more beautiful than a diamond of heavier carat with no good cut.

So, while the diamond carat is definitely an essential element that helps you choose a high-quality diamond, you should give it preference only after the cut of the diamond when you go diamonds shopping. 

Final Words

The four “C”’s of diamond shopping are hence simple qualities of a diamond that help you choose the perfect diamond. 

The best place to get diamonds is from a store that actively prioritizes the four “C”’s of diamond shopping. In this way, you will know for sure that the store has good-quality diamonds with the essential qualities. 

While the four “C”’s are simple tools that help you with your decision, it is not necessary to religiously abide by these factors. Based on your choices and likes, you can choose and buy the best diamonds!